Hwatu Rules

Make your own free website on Tripod.com
Hwatu Cards
Why does the site seem short?

2 t o 3 P l a y e r s

Hwatu is a game involving two players or three players. In a two player game the dealer distributes five cards to each player then lays four cards face up on the table. He then distributes five more cards to each player and finishes by placing the final four cards face up on the table.The remaining cards are stacked in the center of the table, face down. The person who deals makes the first move. The object is to get a score of at least seven points to stop.

With three players the dealer hands out four cards to each player and puts three card face up on the table. He then distributes four more cards and puts another three in the middle. The remaining cards go in the center, face down. The dealer goes first and goes in a counter clockwise direction. The object is to get a score of at least three points to stop.

The dealer makes the first move by trying to match a card in his hand to one on the table. If he does not have a matching pair then he chooses a card to put in the middle. After this is done he takes a card from the stack and flips it over to see if he has a matching pair. If he does not then he puts the card from the stack to the center.

There are four groups of cards:Kwang, Yul, Tti, and Pi.
Kwang Kwang are cards that have a red circle with a symbol in it.

If you collect all five you get fifteen points. If you collect four you get four pints. If you get three with this card
then you get two points. If you get three without that card you get three points.
Yul Yul are cards with animals on them. Five Yul cards equal one point. Every Yul card after five adds another point. For example, seven Yul equals six points. If you get godori which is the combination of these three cards

then you get five points. If you get seven or more Yul cards without the Godori combo then you double your score. If you get seven Yul cards and the Godori combination and no other points from other groups you get a maximum of sixteen points.
Tti Tti are cards that have flags in them. There are three groups of Tti cards:hong-dan, cho-dan, and chung-dan.
Hong-dan are the red flags with symbols.

Cho-dan are the cards with a plain red flag.

Chung-dan are the cards with a blue flag with symbols.

Five Tti cards equal one point and every additional Tti is an extra point. If you get any combination then it is worth three points.
Pi Pi cards are the rest of the cards and have no combinations. There are some cards that are worth two pi. These are those cards

If you get ten pi it equals one point and everyone after that adds another point. If you win with more than ten pi and another player does not have five pi then he has to pay double.

There are ways to get a Pi from other players. some of these ways are Sseul which is when you clear all the cards on the table facing up on the table. Another is Ppuk which is when you take all 4 cards after a Sulssa. Sulssa is when you put a card that matches and the card you flip over is the same. When this happens you do not receive the cards and you have to leave it in the middle. Ttadak is when you take all four cards from same month but you donīt clear the table. Chok is when the turned over card matches the card you have just put down on the table.

There are also different ways to double your score. The first way is by saying "go" three times and winning. If you say "go" four times then it quadruples the score. Another is Pi-bak which is when the winner wins with at least ten Pi and any player who does not have at least five Pi must pay double to the winner. Kwang-bak is when the winner wins with three or more kwangs then any player with any Kwang must pay double to the winner. Mong-tta-bak is when a player wins with at least seven Yul. Heundeum is when a player gets three matching cards in his hand and shows all three cards to the other players before putting one of the cards down on the table. If the player who has Heundeum wins, the other other players have to pay him double. If you have two Heundeum then you can get four times the score.
If no one gets enough points it is called Nagari. The winner of the next round will get double points. Gobak is when someone else gets three or more points and wins before your turn when you call for "go". You have to pay for the other players who also lost. Chong Tong is if you have all four cards of the same family in your hand, it is counted as five points and the game ends.